You are currently using an unsupported web browser. For the best experience using the Talent Manager website please consider upgrading your browser.

BBC2’s Once Upon a Time in Northern Ireland and Channel 4’s Dispatches investigation into Russell Brand are among the winners of this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild Awards.

Keo Films and Walk on Air Films’ five-part series about Northern Ireland was named best documentary series at the awards, replicating the success of the production team’s win in the same category in 2022 for Once Upon a Time in Iraq.

Meanwhile, Hardcash Productions’ two-part expose Russell Brand: In Plain Sight won best documentary mini-series.

The biggest winner at this year’s awards, the 50th in the event’s history, was Lookout Point’s BBC1 drama Happy Valley, which was crowned best drama series, best writer for Sally Wainwright and best actress for Sarah Lancashire.

Studio Lambert scored its second successive win for best entertainment, following up last year’s victory for The Traitors with one for Netflix’s Squid Game: The Challenge, which it shares with co-producer The Garden.

Actor David Jonsson picked up the breakthrough talent award for his role in Mammoth Screen’s BBC1 Agatha Christie drama Murder is Easy, while GK Barry, influencer and Saving Grace podcast host, won the emerging talent award.

A special jury prize for television award went to the ITV Studios and Little Gem team behind ITV’s hit drama Mr Bates vs The Post Office, while Left Bank Pictures creative director Andy Harries won the Harvey Lee Award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting for a career that has spanned The Royle Family, The South Bank Show, Prime Suspect and The Crown.

Winners in full:

Best Documentary Mini Series (1-3 episodes)
Russell Brand: In Plain Sight  (Hardcash Productions for Channel 4’s Dispatches)

Best Documentary Series (4+ episodes)
Once Upon A Time in Northern Ireland (KEO Films and Walk on Air Films for BBC2/PBS/The Open University)

Best Comedy
Ghosts – series 5 (Monumental Television/Them There for BBC1)

Best Entertainment
Squid Game: The Challenge (Studio Lambert/The Garden for Netflix)

Best Drama Mini Series (1-3 episodes)
Time – series 2 (BBC Studios Drama for BBC1)

Best Drama Series (4+ episodes)

Happy Valley – series 3 (Lookout Point/ AMC for BBC1)

Best Actress
Sarah Lancashire - Happy Valley – series 3 (Lookout Point/ AMC for BBC1)

Best Actor
Gary Oldman – Slow Horses (See-Saw Films for Apple TV+)

Best Writer
Sally Wainwright – Happy Valley – series 3 (Lookout Point/ AMC for BBC1)

BPG Breakthrough Talent Award
David Jonsson - Agatha Christie’s Murder Is Easy (Mammoth Screen for BBC1)

BPG Emerging Creators Award
GK Barry

Radio Programme of the Year
The Briefing Room (BBC Radio 4)

Podcast of the Year
Movers and Shakers (Podot)

Audio Presenter of the Year
Ken Bruce (Bauer Media Audio UK for Greatest Hits Radio)

BPG Jury Prize for Audio
Goalhanger Podcasts

BPG Jury Prize for Television
Mr Bates vs The Post Office (ITV Studios/Little Gem for ITV)

Harvey Lee Award for Outstanding Contribution to Broadcasting
Andy Harries

Need Help?