You are currently using an unsupported web browser. For the best experience using the Talent Manager website please consider upgrading your browser.

BBC natural history chief Sreya Biswas and Channel 4 head of news Louisa Compton are among four new trustees appointed to the Grierson Trust.

Biswas and Compton, whose remit also covers current affairs, specialist factual and sport are joined by C4 controller of legal and compliance Amali de Silva and Amazon Studios unscripted development executive Harjeet Chhokar.

With this quartet and TV Access Project co-lead Tanya Motie, who became a trustee in January, the Trust now has 18 trustees as it expands its ambition to provide industry training and spot new documentary and factual talent through the Grierson DocLab.

Biswas, who was recently interviewed for The Talent Manager's Commissioners Q&A, oversees BBC flagships such as Planet Earth III and Wild Britain as well as documentaries including Planet Sex with Cara Delevingne and returning formats Inside the Factory and Sprijngwatch. She said she hoped her “experiences and specialist factual knowledge will strengthen and bring a fresh perspective to making a difference in the industry at a difficult time”.

Lorraine Heggessey, chair of the board of trustees, said: “The experience, skills and fresh perspectives of our new trustees will be invaluable as we continue to broaden and build our work with producers, broadcasters and streamers to widen the creative talent pool.” 

Chhokar, who greenlit shows such as Clarkson's Farm and Arsenal: All or Nothing, said: "Documentaries feel more vital now than ever before, so it is a huge honour and privilege to be joining The Grierson Trust’s board, working alongside some of the most respected individuals from the genre and industry. It’s so important that we all empower and develop the next generation of documentary filmmakers and I cannot wait to work with them through the prestigious Grierson DocLab scheme."

The trustees also include Ben Anthony, Guy Davies, Nelesh Dhand, Poppy Dixon, Danny Horan, Marjorie Kaplan, Kristina Obradovic, Fatima Salaria, Rob Stapledon, Donna Taberer, Maxine Watson and Andy Worboy.

The new trustees will be among the judges of this year’s Grierson Awards, which take place on 9 November at London's Queen Elizabeth Hall. Talent Manager sponsors the Hero of the Year award, won last year by doc maker and We are Doc Women founder Clare Richards.


Need Help?