You are currently using an unsupported web browser. For the best experience using the Talent Manager website please consider upgrading your browser.

Brett Morgen’s David Bowie doc Moonage Daydream and Sara Dosa’s Fire of Love are among the five documentaries in the running at this year’s Bafta Film Awards.

Meanwhile, Kim Hopkins’ longlisted British title A Bunch of Amateurs missed the final five in the best documentary shortlist, which was announced today.

Maia Kennedy, director of Extinction Rebellion documentary feature Rebellion, which was backed by the Doc Society Climate Story Fund, has scored a nomination for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer – the sole unscripted title in the category.

Aftersun, Charlotte Wells’ hugely acclaimed debut feature as writer and director, is in the running for both categories, as is Sophie Hydes’ Good Luck to You, Leo Grande, which is the debut film screenplay from writer and actor Katy Brand.

German film All Quiet on the Western Front leads the pack with 14 nominations, with The Banshees of Inisherin and Everything Everywhere All At Once.

Key nominees:

Best Documentary

All That Breathes (Shaunak Sen)
All the Beauty and the Bloodshed (Laura Poitras)
Fire of Love (Sara Dosa)
Moonage Daydream (Brett Morgen)
Navalny (Daniel Roher)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Aftersun (writer/director Charlotte Wells)
Blue Jean (writer/director Georgia Oakley and producer Hélène Sifre)
Electric Malady (director Marie Lidén)
Good Luck to You, Leo Grande (writer Katy Brand)
Rebellion (director Maia Kenworthy)

Outstanding British Film

Aftersun (Charlotte Wells)
The Banshees of Inisherin (Martin McDonagh)
Brian and Charles (Jim Archer)
Empire of Light (Sam Mendes)
Good Luck to You, Leo Grande (Sophie Hyde)
Living (Oliver Hermanus)
Roald Dahl’s Matilda the Musical (Matthew Warchus)
See How They Run (Tom George)
The Swimmers (Sally El Hosaini)
The Wonder (Sebastián Lelio)

British Short Film

The Ballad of Olive Morris (Alex Kayode-Kay)
Bazigaga (Jo Ingabire Moys, Stephanie Charmail)
Bus Girl (Jessica Henwick, Louise Palmkvist Hansen)
A Drifting Up (Jacob Lee)
An Irish Goodbye (Tom Berkeley, Ross White)

The Bafta Film Awards take place on 19 February. To see the full list of nominations, click here

Need Help?